top of page

French Foiling Young Guns: Meet Julian and Alexandre


Our series of interviews with Young Guns of the sport continues.

Today let’s meet Alexandre and Julian. They are both French, 16 years old. They train and compete together and are both full of ambition for their future windsurfing careers.

Thanks for supporting them by sharing this interview.

Any brands out there interested in sponsoring these guys? Get in contact with them!

 

Name: Alexandre Lescoublet

Age: 16 years old

Home Spot: NC Miramas, France

Sponsors / Gear: My parents and the Glissattitude Shop: I-99 NoveNove, Starboard GT alu

Social Media: Instagram: @Alex.lscblt / Facebook: Alexandre Lescoublet

__________________

Name: Julian Jordan

Age: 16 years old

Home Spot: Saint Laurent du Var, France

Instagram: @julian-2b

Thanks for answering our questions guys! Could you present yourselves to our readers?

Alexandre: Hi! My name is Alexandre Lescoublet. I live in France and I’m an 11th grade student. I love sports, my favourite being windfoiling of course. I also have the chance to have my home spots really close to where I live.

Julian: Hi, I’m Julian, 16 years old and a high school student in Nice in the South of France. I’m completely passionate about windfoiling. I’m also active with other board sports like skateboarding, surfing, kitesurfing, and windsurfing.

Alexandre Jumping

How old were you when you started windsurfing, and where did you learn?

Alexandre: I started windsurfing when I was 9. My uncle introduced me and after that I learned in my club with some great coaches.

Julian: I started windsurfing when I was 11 years old in Corsica, thanks to my mother!

windfoil jibe

Julian jibing

When did you try windfoiling for the first time. Can you remember your first impressions?

Alexandre: I tried windfoiling for the first time a year and a half ago during some tests organised by my club. I obviously loved it. It was something new, something unbelievable and I decided to buy some equipment just after this experience.

Julian: My first time was in Corsica during the summer 2018. It was just incredible, I loved the feeling. It was really like flying and doing a completely new sport. To me, that’s the best sensations you can get on a windsurf board.

Alexandre foiling full speed

What are your plans for 2019 and for the future?

Alexandre: I want to do the French Championship in August 2019, but I must do some races before in order to qualify. I'm currently ranked second in my region.

In the future, I hope to do the PWA World Tour in the windfoil category, do some events all around the world and teach my passion to others.

Julian: I have several projects in 2019: First, I hope to win the Regional Championship, and it looks promising as I already won the first stage, and finished second in the following race. I also have the ambition to win the French National Championship later this year. At a later stage, I also hope to be able to enter the PWA World Tour.

Foiling windsurf

Julian flying upwind

Do you get the support you need for that?

Alexandre: Since the beginning, my parents have helped me a lot to find boards, sails, etc ... I’ll always be thankful for that. I’m currently using I-99 NoveNove board and Starboard GT alu foil. Glissattitude Shop helped me to buy this equipment also.

I would love to get some new gear but it’s so expensive and I don’t have the budget yet...

Julian: I actually really need to get some sponsors to finance my windfoil equipment. I’m very motivated to get good results in competitions and I’m quite active on social media, so I hope I can find some brands to support me.

Julian in heavy conditions

Many readers of our blog are beginners or haven’t even started windfoiling. Do you have any good tips to learn windfoiling?

Alexandre: Windfoiling is totally different than slalom windsurfing. Try to forget what you have learned on a slalom board and use your feelings instead.

Julian: I would recommend not to ask yourself too many questions when learning. Try to stay relaxed on your board and avoid starting with a too large of a sail. The ideal conditions to learn in are a steady 15-20 knots with a small sail.

Thank you both for answering our questions, and good luck in connecting with a sponsor who is keen on supporting young windfoilers who are breaking out on the scene!

NEED TO PROTECT YOUR BOARD FROM CATAPULTS?

buy surfbent board nose protector

328 views

Comments


RELATED ARTICLES

LIP SUNGLASSES

THE ULTIMATE WATERSHADE!

READ OUR REVIEW

lip.gif

USE CODE WINDFOIL-NATION

AND GET 5% OFF !

Nemely ad.JPG
bottom of page