top of page

Let's meet Danicka, Hawaiian young gun


danicka sailer windfoiling young gun

A new interview featuring a "Young Gun" and a “windfoil girl” at the same time. Let's meet Danicka from Hawaii, 14 years old.

She is a fairly new windfoiler, but has already some hairy goals !

Name: Danicka Sailer

Age: 14

Home Spot: Hawaii Kai

Results: 1st Windfoiler at Barons Cup

1st Windfoiler in the 2019 - 10 mile Dinghy Transpac

Instagram: @danicka.sailer

Thanks for answering our questions Danicka! Could you present yourself to our readers?

My name is Danicka Sailer and I am in the 9th grade at Le Jardin Academy.

I live in Hawaii Kai on the marina directly across from my home spot!

Other than windsurfing I love to sail and play lacrosse.

How old were you when you started windsurfing, and where did you learn?

When I started Windsurfing I was 12 years old at Hawaii Kai Boat Club.

When did you try windfoiling for the first time? What were your first impressions?

I tried windfoiling in the fall of 2018, and I just got my JP Australia / NeilPryde foil equipment in January.

I had been waiting for about a year to try the foil because all of the boys in my class had been hogging it. When I first tried it I loved it and I haven’t stopped since!

What are your plans for 2019 and for the future?

I have recently competed in the NZ Windfoiling Nationals and met Olympic medalists like Elliot Carney and Kiran Badloe. Hopefully, I will attend the USA National Championships for the Techno and I plan to attend next years NZ Windfoiling Nationals.

I hope that one day I will be able to compete in the PWA Tour and the Olympics.

Do you get the support you need for that?

I am very happy that my loving family and boat club supports me because windsurf equipment is expensive.

I hope that one day I get sponsored by Sailworks, NeilPryde and JP Australia.

Danicks sailer windfoiling on neilpryde and sailworks

Many readers of our blog are beginners or haven’t even started windfoiling. Do you have any good tips to learn windfoiling?

I am a beginner too but I recommend to start learning in a big open bay without shifty conditions or big waves.

Before I ever went windfoiling I learned how to foil skurf which helped a lot with controlling the board height!

Thank you for answering our questions, and good luck with your plans! Do you have anything to add to finish off this interview?

Just have fun!

898 views

Comentarios


RELATED ARTICLES

LIP SUNGLASSES

THE ULTIMATE WATERSHADE!

READ OUR REVIEW

lip.gif

USE CODE WINDFOIL-NATION

AND GET 5% OFF !

Nemely ad.JPG
bottom of page