top of page

Let's meet Matthew McIntosh - 12 years old


A new article featuring a windfoiling "Young Gun".

Today, let's meet Matthew from New Zealand, who started windfoiling when he was 10 years old!

The goal is to present young and promissing windfoilers to help them grow in the sport.

Windfoil Zone is happy to support these young guys and girls. Contact us if you are or know someone who deserves to be featured in this column in the future.

 

Name: Matthew McIntosh

Age: 12

Homespot: Lake Pupuke, Auckland New Zealand

Sponsors/gear: Starboard, Serverne, NZ Boardstore, Madloop Windsurf school, Hot Sails Maui

Best results: NZ Boardstore Windfoil nationals March 2019: 1st place in the bronze fleet.

Hi Matthew, could you present yourself to our readers? :

I go to school at Rosmini college Auckland, my main sports are windfoiling, high wind windsurfing, sailing and football.

 
 

How old were you when you started windsurfing?

I started windsurfing when I was 2 years old because my dad had a ido (which is a thing that stops the rig from falling over), and a 0.8 sail, my dad would let me sail out about 2 m and then he would have had a rope attached to the board so he would pull me back in.

windsurf foiling in New Zealand

When did you try wind foiling for the first time?

I tried Windfoiling for the first time when I was 10 and I was the worlds youngest Windfoiler, I learned at Lake Pupuke Madloop Windsurf School.

What are your plans for 2019 and the future?

I want to become a really good Windfoiler, be faster and nail my racing tactics .eg. upwind, downwind, and just to have fun on the water.

Any beginner tips?

  1. To start, you will need the wind to be about 10-15 knots.

  2. If or when you crash don’t let go of the boom!

  3. The right gear to learn on is at least a 1000 cm2 front wind and about 6-7m sail, with a board of 150 litres roughly.

  4. You need to have at least the front foot strap on the board and always have your front foot in the strap when you’re trying to fly.

  5. Don’t use your harness when you’re learning.

  6. Try and get something to protect the front of your board so when you crash you don’t crack the board, and wear a helmet to protect your head.

  7. Don't water start in case you hit your foot or ankle on the foil.

Anything you want to add to finish off?

Just get on the water!

foil windsurfing matthew

697 views

Comments


RELATED ARTICLES

LIP SUNGLASSES

THE ULTIMATE WATERSHADE!

READ OUR REVIEW

lip.gif

USE CODE WINDFOIL-NATION

AND GET 5% OFF !

Nemely ad.JPG
bottom of page